“Ambulance Dollars – Feeding Tube Awareness Week” by Tyler Stagman

Today’s Tubie Guest Writer is Tyler Stagman:

 

“I was warned when I agreed to the gastric tube that many people would not know what it is or how it works. I was lucky enough the first few years I had it to have a place nearby where they knew how to care for the tube, including placing it and taking care of any problems or questions I had with it.

Now that I have moved, I have found that I constantly have to advocate for myself even more than I did before, because many of my doctors are not familiar with my disabilities or how my care needs to be more hands on than most people. Every time someone has to check my stomach, I show them where the tube is and tell them not to press on it or too close to it. Most people are accommodating, but others do not take the time to care.

I am constantly surprised how many medical professionals do not know what my gastric tube is let alone how it works. I was hospitalized recently, and during my stay I received antibiotics via feeding tube twice a day. I had to teach every nurse I had during my stay how to give my medications via gastric tube. Even though I was there to get better and be taken care of, I had to teach my care team how to care for me. Most of my nurses took it very gracefully and were willing to take the time to learn. I did have one nurse who became frustrated and wanted me to just do it myself. While I understood that it can be frustrating, I was also frustrated that while I could be getting some much needed rest between being poked, prodded, scanned, and questioned constantly about my health I had to take the time twice a day to explain how to administer a medication, something I could do easily in under a minute.

Since my diagnoses I have learned two very important things: You are your biggest advocate. Do not be afraid to advocate for yourself! You are not being rude, you are not being condescending, you are telling your care team how they can best care for you! Most people admire you for advocating for yourself and do not see it as rude. The second thing I have learned is that the best way to raise awareness for yourself and about your medical conditions is to educate others. Your doctor cannot help you if they don’t know what is going on or how to handle the problem! In the interest of education and raising awareness I have made a video demonstrating the basics about using a gastric tube.”

tyler-stagman

[Image shows a lady to the left with short brown hair and straight bangs in a sweater, and a younger lady next to her with long brown hair in a purple-ish shirt with a brown over sweater, she is smiling and looking into the camera. They appear to be sitting at a table with white cups on the table and something that is red and white checkered.]
One thought on ““Ambulance Dollars – Feeding Tube Awareness Week” by Tyler Stagman

  1. I know what you mean, im not in the same exact situation but when I was on dialysis and I had to go to the E.R i had to show the nurses and doctors how it worked, this was when I was in pediatrics. One doctor was really rude and started yelling at me cos I was telling him what he was doing was wrong and it could cause an infection for me he ended up yelling and belittling me and just threw the tray of useless medical tools. So I guess theres alwsys that one that is to stubborn to admit they don’t know how to do something… I think your doing a great job is spreading awareness and making videos in how to take care of yourself or someone in that same situation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

